Thursday, 23 April 2009


Brad Pitt and pals set out to kill 100 Nazis each in occupied France - In cinemas 21st Aug!

'Inglourious Basterds' - Official Site

Thursday, 2 April 2009


Released: March 23rd 2009

Length: 50:55

Label: Wall Of Sound; Astralwerks

It has been almost 4 years since Röyksopp released their last studio LP, and in the midst of their eagerly awaited return, one is left ever so slightly disappointed with latest album ‘Junior.’

‘Happy Up Here,’ the first release from this album, pushes Röyksopp’s happy electronica to the max while ‘The Girl and The Robot’ brings a new energy to their style featuring the unmistakable vocals of Robyn. ‘Vision One’ is another highlight with a gritty yet dreamy hook – but overall, the album lacks the inspiration that oozed out of ‘Melody A.M’ (2001) and ‘The Understanding’ (2005).

Röyksopp use Karin Dreijer-Andersson in the high-tempo but relatively weak ‘This Must Be It’ and the cleverly arranged and retro ‘Tricky Tricky.’ However, it is unlikely either track will generate the same success as 2005 hit ‘What Else Is There?,’ which Dreijer-Andersson also featured on.

The more prominent use of strings in ‘You Don’t Have a Clue’ and the instrumental ‘Röyksopp Forever’ touch on the beautifully haunting sounds that the Norwegian duo are known for. Meanwhile, ‘It’s What I Want’ includes the duo’s familiar synthesized vocals but struggles to capture the imagination.

The disappointment doesn’t end there. ‘Miss It So Much’ is cute and summery but all too samey while ‘Silver Cruiser’ allows a breather from a succession of high tempo tracks, but sounds too much like an inconsequential interlude. ‘True To Life’ hopefully comes in before ‘Silver Cruiser’ has sent you to sleep and continues in the same vein as earlier, more promising tracks, but not to the effect that the Röyksopp we know and love has delivered in the past.


Another decent set of tracks from this unique outfit, but perhaps not as refined and consistent as ‘Melody A.M’ and ‘The Understanding.’

Promising. No more, no less.

Rating: 7/10